The 2022 EPAA winners - a decorative banner

The winners of the 30th annual Educational Publishing Awards Australia were announced live at the EPAA Ceremony in Melbourne tonight.

Congratulations to all the publishing professionals with titles in the running for the 2022 EPAAs, from the shortlisted teams right through to the overall winners.

Browse the winners and shortlist across all categories here 

EPAA coordinator and Director of Publishing at Jacaranda Brent Ramsay says, “Across all 24 categories, the Judges were supremely impressed with the detail, quality and innovation displayed in all 103 entries. Congratulations to all entrants, and thank you for your contributions to improving Australian teaching and learning outcomes.”

Outstanding Award winners

Each year, three Outstanding Award winners are selected from the winners across all categories in their teaching tier. The Outstanding Award winners for this year are:

Outstanding Primary Resource 

Bailey Finch Takes a Stand by Ingrid Laguna. Sparkles with hope... I cheered and cried for Bailey, who is adventurous, brace and determined to change the world, Fiona Hardy

Bailey Finch Takes a Stand

Ingrid Laguna 

Text Publishing

See here for the judges’ comments.


Outstanding Secondary Resource 

Examplus VCE Biology Units 1-4

Diane Canavan, Nicole Henry, Anne Maslin

Nelson – A Cengage Company

See here for the judges’ comments


Outstanding Tertiary / VET

Principles of Anatomy & Physiology: For Nursing and Healthcare Students in Australia by Byrne, Deasy, Dowlman, Gillan, Purushothuman and Wadsworth

Principles of Anatomy & Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students in Australia

Ian Peate, Suzanne Evans, Amy Byrne, Will Deasy, Michele Dowlman, Pauline Gillan, Siva Purushothuman, Dan Wadsworth


See here for the judges’ comments.


The Mike Horsley Award recipient – Sophie Kaliniecki, Cengage 


The Mike Horsley Award 2022 for outstanding service to the industry is awarded to Sophie Kaliniecki. Currently the Portfolio Lead, Vocational at Cengage, Sophie’s career has spanned many of the major companies in educational publishing. Sophie has shown steadfast dedication to the industry, to her colleagues and to the authors she works with, who speak so highly of her support and expertise. 

Sophie’s nominators praised her drive and commitment to quality learning experiences, creating relevant and meaningful resources that maintain the integrity of the content, while being easy for learners to understand.

Congratulations and thank you, Sophie!


Publisher of the Year 

For the first time Cambridge University Press (Secondary) and Seven Steps (Primary) have been voted as the winners of the Publisher of the Year awards by the education community. 

Congratulations to both companies for continuing to lead the way in their connections with and services to schools, teachers, librarians and booksellers. 


Missed the EPAA Ceremony?

You can watch the Awards broadcast back here. 

Congratulations to all those who entered this year’s awards. You should all be very proud of your achievements in the last year and the work you do for Australian education.