The Mike Horsley Award recognises outstanding service to the Australian Educational Publishing Industry (primary, secondary, tertiary) by an individual from within its ranks. The award honours Educational Publishing Awards founder, the late Professor Mike Horsley.


The recipient is chosen from a list of nominations made by the industry, which is promoted via the APA’s committees and its e-news platform. 


About Professor Mike Horsley

Professor Mike Horsley in 1994 commenced the Educational Publishing Awards with the vision to promote and celebrate research, innovation and excellence in Australian educational publishing. He believed that Australian learning resources are a critical feature of the education landscape and a key influencer of student learning outcomes.

Starting his career as a secondary school teacher, Mike became president of the Economics and Business Studies Teachers of NSW, and went on to become deputy director of a UNESCO/UNDP/IOE regional vocational education curriculum project in the 11 countries of the South Pacific. With Ni-Vanuatu partners he established a new business school in Espiritu Santo in Vanuatu and was a long-time resident of Samoa and Fiji. Between 1991 and 2001 he was the director of the Diploma in Education at the University of Sydney, and subsequently became foundation director of the Master of Teaching; the world’s first case-based teacher education program. This led to appointments on Board of Studies Curriculum Committees and to the Review of Teacher Education in NSW, which prepared the path for the NSW Institute of Teachers.

For almost 10 years Mike conducted learning and homework centres for Sydney’s Islander (Samoan, Tongan, Fijian) communities. He was a world authority on homework research and in 2012 a book on the subject, which he jointly authored with Richard Walker from the University of Sydney titled Reforming Homework was published by Palgrave Macmillan.


2021 Award Winner

Be on the lookout for an interview with Rosaleen on our news page. 

2020 Award Winner – Peter van Noorden, previously of OUP

Read our interview with Peter here, or watch the award giving and interview on YouTube.

2019 Inaugural Award Winner – Peter Stannard, Firefly Education

Read more about Peter here.