The EPAA celebrate the role publishing plays in supporting educators and students in early childhood, primary, secondary and tertiary/VET education.  


The Educational Publishing Awards Australia is a prestigious annual event that rewards excellence and innovation in the industry. Known as the EPAAs, they are coordinated by the Australian Publishers Association. The shortlist and winners list provide educators with exemplary tools for consideration in their classrooms. 

The Awards event is a networking opportunity for colleagues in the industry. Awards are judged by a panel of peers, and each year teachers and booksellers vote for the coveted Publisher of the Year award. The Mike Horsley Award celebrates a longstanding educational publishing staffer who has demonstrated dedication to the industry and wider educational sector. 

The event showcases the very best Australian educational publishing has to offer.

“Every year, for the 20+ years the awards have been in existence, the quality of the entries is truly excellent, so to win or be short listed is valued enormously by recipients.” Lee Walker, Director, Schools Division, Oxford University Press.

The Awards were co-founded in 1993 by the APA and the late Professor Mike Horsley. 


You can watch the EPAAwards presentations on YouTube.

Subscribe to hear about upcoming broadcasts. 


  • Entries and judging are conducted via the AwardForce platform. 
  • Detail on Awards Categories, Criteria, Conditions of Entry and how to enter can be found via this page.