A still from the EPAA 2020 digital ceremony

In a digital celebration that premiered online yesterday afternoon, publishers and educators celebrated excellence in educational publishing. On Zoom screens, Microsoft Teams calls, laptops and mobile phones in living rooms around the country, attendees celebrated 20 outstanding resources, as well as all those involved behind the scenes and in classrooms.

As many people shifted to making and using these vital educational resources from home during the coronavirus restrictions, this year’s Educational Publishing Awards also featured a range of speeches made from home, including keynotes from high-achieving educators Yasodai Selvakumaran and Jane Doyle, who respectively spoke about the importance of teaching diverse histories and the power of effective literacy teaching.

Our Land, Our Stories by Sally Lawrence, Lisa Fuller, Josie, Orlando and Shae et al., published by Nelson – A Cengage Company, partnered with AIATSIS, was awarded Outstanding Primary Resource, applauded by judges for its ‘authenticity in the way that it celebrates contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures.’

PLD was awarded the 2020 Publisher of the Year for Primary for the third year running.

The 2020 Publisher of the Year for Secondary was Jacaranda, who also received the Outstanding Secondary Resource award for Jacaranda VCE Chemistry 1 Units 1 & 2 and Units 3 & 4 + studyON by Neale Taylor, Angela Stubbs and Robert Stokes et al., which judges commended for its ‘clear and accessible content and its direct alignment of content with the key knowledge and skill requirements of the study design.’

Financial Accounting, 9th edition by Craig Deegan, published by McGraw Hill, was awarded Outstanding Tertiary & VET Resource. Judges said this was ‘due to its comprehensive and memorable suite of resources and its student-focused approach.’

The Mike Horsley Award was presented to Peter van Noorden, celebrating a prolific career that has spanned more than 40 years. He was most recently the Managing Director of Oxford University Press Australia and New Zealand – a position he held for about 12 years.

The Scholarly Non-Fiction Book of the Year award went to Australianama by Samia Khatun, published by University of Queensland Press, which judges called ‘an intriguing story that has required, in its telling, both careful, sustained research and familiarity with diverse and complex cultural traditions and areas of philosophy.’

The awards ceremony can be viewed at any time on YouTube. The event was coordinated by the Schools and Educational Publishing Committee and supported by the Tertiary and Professional, and Scholarly and Journal publishing committees of the Australian Publishers Association.

Special thanks to our major sponsor the Copyright Agency, and also to sponsors Newgen KnowledgeWorks and Learnosity.

Browse the 2020 EPAA catalogue here to see all the winning and shortlisted resources, or view the full list of winners and highly commended resources here. Award winners can access digital assets showcasing their win here.